Alzheimer’s Patient’s Prayer by Carolyn Haynali


Alzheimer’s Patient’s Prayer

Pray for me I was once like you

Be kind and loving to me that’s how I would have treated you

Remember I was once someone’s parent or spouse

I had a life and a dream for the future

Speak to me; I can hear you even if I don’t

understand what you are saying

Speak to me of things in my past of which I can still relate

Be considerate of me, my days are such a struggle

Think of my feelings because I still have them and

can feel pain. Treat me with respect because

I would have treated you that way

Think of how I was before I got Alzheimer’s

I was full of life; I had a life, laughed and loved you

Think of how I am now, my disease distorts

my thinking, my feelings and my ability to respond

but I still love you even if I can’t tell you

Think about my future because I used to

Remember I was full of hope for the future just like you are now

Think how it would be to have things locked in your mind

and can’t let them out

I need you to understand and not blame me but Alzheimer’s

I still need the compassion and touching and

most of all I still need you to love me

Keep me in your prayers because I am between life and death

The love you give will be a blessing from God and both of us

will live forever…

How you live and what you do today will always be

remembered in the heart of the Alzheimer’s Patient

Carolyn Haynali 3/2000


Share/Bookmark

About Lark

I was born at a very young age.

Posted on June 4, 2010, in Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia, Grief, Senior Issues and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

